CHINA - 2020/08/10: In this photo illustration a TikTok logo is seen displayed on a smartphone. (Photo Illustration by Sheldon Cooper/SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images)

Tik tok just announced that for the first wave of creators they will no be receiving payments for their videos.  There are 19 creators in total, including David Dobrik, Brittany Tomlinson, Cheyenne Jaz Wise, Justice Alexander, Michael Le, Marissa Ren, and Ross Smith. While many of the recipients already came from full-time entertainment backgrounds — including Dobrik and Smith, who are popular YouTube creators — many of the selected TikTokers came from non-media backgrounds but were able to build substantial followings on the app.

TikTok announced the first wave of recipients for its new Creators Fund, a $200 million venture that will pay popular personalities for their content.

Will you be creating more content on tik tok now to start receiving payments?