NEW YORK, NEW YORK - SEPTEMBER 13: Virgil Abloh attends The 2021 Met Gala Celebrating In America: A Lexicon Of Fashion at Metropolitan Museum of Art on September 13, 2021 in New York City.

Harlem’s Fashion Row is paying tribute to the late Virgil Abloh who died last year from cancer. The Virgil Abloh Award is presented by LVMH. Abloh served as the artistic director for their menswear collection. He was the first person of African descent to lead the brand’s menswear line.

The award will be introduced during this year’s 15th Anniversary Fashion Show & Style Awards scheduled to open New York Fashion Week on Sept. 6. According to a press release per Vibe, “the Virgil Abloh Award was created to celebrate like-minded individuals who embody Virgil’s spirit, brilliance, and vision, through invaluable contributions to culture, community, and innovation.” Issa Rae has been named the inaugural recipient of the award and which will be presented by Virgil Abloh’s widow Shannon Abloh.

This year’s theme is “Future’s Past.” Designers such as Clarence Ruth of Cotte D’Armes, Johnathon Hayden of Deus Ex Machina, and Nicole Benefield will present their latest collections.

“African Americans have a rich history in fashion, although much of their contributions have been buried or unrecognized in history. However, HFR would not exist without the work of Black designers like Lois Alexander Lane, who created the Harlem Institute of Fashion and the Black Fashion Museum. We also would not exist without the work of other sartorial pioneers like Ann Lowe, Elizabeth Keckley, and Eunice Johnson. We are moving into the future by reaching back to understand, honor, and pull strength from our past,” explained Brandice Daniel, CEO & Founder of Harlem’s Fashion Row.

Take a look at the full list of honorees below:

The Virgil Abloh Award presented by LVMH:  – Issa Rae – Actress, Writer, and Producer
Designer of the Year: Sergio Hudson – Luxury Women’s Wear Designer
Editor of the Year: Robin Givhan – Fashion Editor and Pulitzer Prize Winning Writer
Stylist of the Year: Ade Samuel – Celebrity Stylist
ICON of the Year Award: Janet Jackson – Actress, Singer, Songwriter, Author, Businesswoman, and Philanthropist

Virgil Abolh: Celebs Honor The Late Designer In Sweet Tributes

  • 1.

  • 2.

  • 3.

  • 4.

  • 5.

  • 6.

  • 7.

  • 8.

  • 9.

  • 10.

  • 11.

  • 12.

  • 13.

  • 14.

  • 15.

  • 16.

  • 17.

  • 18.

  • 19.

  • 20.